The Most Romantic Proposal in All the Land

6 09 2009

Valentine's Day proposalThe most romantic proposal story that I have ever heard of happens to be my very own.  After dating for just over two years, I knew it was time to decide where our relationship was heading.  Yes, I’m a planner.  So, I can’t ever just be wading around in the universe with no direction, no goal.  That’s just me.  I mean, I didn’t want to be married right now and that’s that!  I just wanted the relationship to be heading in a direction with a single goal in mind.  Since Valentine’s Day was coming up, I set that as my target date.  I told my roommate that, if my then boyfriend didn’t propose by midnight on Valentine’s Day, then I was going to propose to him.  She asked me, “But what if he says ‘No’?”  I said, “Then, I guess we’ll have to call it quits.”  I was barely 21, but I’ve always been an old soul.  It seemed logical.

What I didn’t know was that my then boyfriend, who worked with my roommate, had already told everyone at work that he was going to propose to me on Valentine’s Day.  He even brought the ring to work to show everyone.  They took one look at the ring he happily held up for them and remarked, “How sweet!  It’s a promise ring!”  (We did end up going to the jeweler the day after he proposed to me to, well, get an engagement ring that LOOKED like an engagement ring.)

Mr. Bingo Whore had arranged with my boss at work for me to take a long weekend so that he could whisk me away for a romantic Valentine’s Day in Big Bear.  He had told my boss the true reason for the romantic getaway and my boss never said a word.  When I asked Mr. Bingo Whore what I should pack, he was being very coy because he didn’t want me to know where we were going.  It was a surprise, you see.  If you knew me, you’d KNOW how much I hate Roses for the most romantic proposal ever.surprises!  Again, I’m a planner.  I ended up paying for the Jack in the Box meal we ate on the way up the mountain because he “forgot” his wallet.

We pulled up to this beautiful Bed and Breakfast in Big Bear around 7:30pm.  He had arranged to have my favorite movies stocked up in the main living room downstairs next to the roaring fire.  He then told me that he was “…kinda hungry.  Let’s go get something to eat.”  Still oblivious to the whole deal, I told him I was fine, but we could go out for a drive in the snow and check out the town.  We ended up, funny enough, at a little French restaurant.  “This looks like a good place,” he said, nonchalantly.  “Let’s try it.”

We were shown to a lovely little table by the front window.  I was unaware that the roses on our table were not the norm until the waitress commented on what a lucky lady I was to have such beautiful flowers on my table.  It was then that I realized the other tables only had a single red rose on them for Valentine’s Day, while our table actually had a bouquet.  I could feel my face get warm as I leaned towards my beloved and told him “thank you”.

We had a lovely meal and enjoyed each other’s company while the couples at the other nine tables were wrapped up in each other’s eyes.  When desert came, I was fully aware that my husband had set this whole romantic dinner up during several of the trips he had made as a volunteer for teaching handicapped children to ski.  This had taken him weeks to plan.  I was very grateful and touched that he would take the time to plan this all out for a simple Valentine’s Day celebration.  I was still blissfully unaware of the true reason such careful planning had taken place.

Engagement ringDessert arrived on a covered silver platter.  When the waitress removed the cover with a flourish, I saw what my honey’s true intent for the evening was: a solitaire diamond in a velvet box set atop a bed of garnish.  On the overhead, strains of “When a Man Loves a Woman” were filling the air as my boyfriend got down on one knee and asked me to be his wife.  I couldn’t say anything through the tears welling up in my eyes and simply shook my head as a chorus of clapping and “hoorays” were thrown about the place from the other patrons as well as the waitresses.  My face grew 20 shades deeper in redness (I am VERY uncomfortable with being the center of attention).

The waitresses came over and fawned all over me and my husband, explaining that they were all nervously peeking around the corner when our waitress came out with the special desert.  They didn’t want to miss a thing.

My now fiancee kept nervously looking out the window as if to try to catch a glimpse of something else.  I asked him what was up.  He didn’t want to tell me at first because he didn’t want to me to be disappointed if it didn’t happen.  After about 30 minutes of waiting, he finally explained that he had arranged to have a horse-drawn sleigh pick us up at the restaurant to take us around the town.  Unfotunately, the man that he had made arrangements with also worked the snow plow and it had snowed heavy that night.  I assured my fiancee that there was nothing to worry about.  I couldn’t possibly be disappointed about that evening after knowing how much thought had gone into it.  He told me that he only planned on asking someone to marry him once, so he was going to do it right.  I’m just grateful that I was the one he chose to ask.

And that, my friends, is the most romantic engagement story I have ever heard.  I haven’t heard better in the 17 years we have been married, either.  So there!  Nyah!

B.W.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

